Meet The LTS Team


Rebecca Fleeman is the Co-Editor-in-Chief of LTS and a PhD candidate in the Biomedical Sciences Program. She works in the lab of Dr. Elizabeth Proctor and studies the effects of genetic and lifestyle risk factors on the immunometabolic response of neurons and glia in Alzheimer’s disease.

Mariam Melkumyan is the Co-Editor-in-Chief and a PhD Candidate working on her dual title PhD in Neuroscience and Clinical & Translational Science. She is working in Dr. Silberman’s lab where she studies the effect of acute and chronic alcohol use and stress on neuroinflammation through microglia and astrocyte activation in the Central Amygdala. 


Stephanie Baringer is a senior editor and a PhD Candidate in the Biomedical Sciences Program. She works in the lab of Dr. James Connor studying the regulation of iron transport at the blood-brain barrier and the potential dysfunction in Alzheimer’s disease.


Victoria Silvis is a senior editor and a PhD candidate in the Biomedical Sciences Program. She works in the lab of Dr. Guy Townsend studying mechanisms of mammalian gut colonization within Bacteroides species.

Savanna Ledford is a senior editor and a DrPH Candidate. She works with Dr. Eugene Lengerich on examining the impact of COVID-19 on cancer outcomes.

Greg Kincheloe is an associate editor and PhD Candidate in the Anatomy Program.  He is working in Dr. Kimball’s lab researching skeletal muscle metabolism in response to immobilization.

Julia Simpson is an associate editor for LTS and a PhD Candidate in the Virology and Immunology track of the Biomedical Sciences Program. She works in the Buchkovich lab studying the viral and cellular factors involved in the assembly and cytoplasmic envelopment stages of Human Cytomegalovirus (HCMV) replication.

Thank you to past editors of the LTS blog!

Daniel Haas, PhD

Indira Purushothaman, PhD

Jordan Gaines Lewis, PhD

Sadie Dierschke, PhD

Stephen Matthews, PhD

Thank you to past contributors to the LTS blog!

Amanda White, PhD

Angela Snyder, PhD

Bailey Keller

Brianna Evans

Caitlin Millett, PhD

Carson Purnell

Carli King

Chris Kendra

Cole Burgess

Daniel Haas, PhD

Elizabeth Lesko

Emily Schleicher, PhD

Gaelyn Lyons

Gail D’Souza

Greg Kincheloe

Hannah Johnson

Ian Hayman

Indira Purushothaman, PhD

Jackson Radler

Jessica Heebner

Jessica Parascando

Jillian Carmichael, PhD

Jordan Gaines Lewis, PhD and founder of the
LTS blog

Joseph Cirilo

Julia Simpson

Kaitlin Carson

Kalin Salinas

Kevin Fundora

Laura Budurlean

Mariam Melkumyan

Mikayla McCord

Mike Sha

Nicole Lookfong

Olivia Marx

Rachel Kallus, PsyD

Radha Dhingra

Rahul Nachnani

Raquel Buj, PhD

Rebecca Fleeman

Ross Keller, PhD

Ryan Hylton, PhD

Sadie Dierschke, PhD

Savanna Ledford

Savannah Marshall

Shivani Godbole

Sonam Lhamo

Stephanie Baringer

Stephen Matthews, PhD

Victoria Silvis

Victoria Vernail

Wenxue Lin, PhD

Xingran Weng, DrPH

Zhexi (Jersey) Lu